... It probably is. Check out this total scam email I received today, supposedly from eBandSearch.com  |
I am contacting you in reference to the resume you posted online. The information in your resume has demonstrated that you may have the experience and qualifications that we are seeking in a candidate for our Web Developer position.
eBand Search is a grassroots marketing campaign that is seeking out the top musical performers in the country. Unlike popular shows such as American Idol, eBand Search is not limited to just individual performers. We are consistently looking for top-flight groups as well to truly determine who the top musical performer in the country is.
Web Developers with eBand Search work within our tech department maintaining and upgrading our website. Additional responsibilities of the Web Developer include working with individual performers or bands to assist them in developing their website. Candidates for this position website design or development experience. Understanding of a variety of programming languages including Microsoft SQL, PHP, Cold Fusion and ASP.net are a must.
Our Web Developers are given an extremely competitive compensation package. Base level salary for the Web Developer position begins at $75k annually with extra pay considerations made for relative qualifications and experience. Additional benefits of this package include:
- $75-$95k Annually
- Expense Account
- Medical and Dental Insurance
- Tuition Reimbursement
- Vision Plan
- Performance Based Salary Increases
, I encourage you to click on the link below if you have an interest in applying for the Web Developer position. You may paste the address into your browser if the link is not functioning properly.
http://ebandsearchemployment.net/careers.aspx?jpID=7944976
We are looking forward to your prompt response. We will be pleased to set up an interview 1 -3 days after we receive confirmation of your interest in the position.
Sincerely,
Phillip Hester Scout 2007
Do_not contact me with future_employment_offers |
|
Though, I'll give it to them. If I weren't paying attention, I'd be thoroughly convinced this were real. The graphics look great. Here's what drew my suspicion. The first thing is that this was a totally unsolicited e-mail. I didn't apply for any position with them. Trust me, I'd remember if I had. There's not any specific information in the e-mail, like my name, or where the position was. I did a little research, by simply pasting the name of the website, eBandSearch into Google Amazingly enough, every entry regards how this is a total scam/fraud. Every entry except for one, which is complete disinformation called, The Truth about eBandSearch. I looked a little closer at the HTML source of the e-mail and saw my e-mail address numerous times within query strings of links and images, which is a classic phishing confirmation technique. Oh, well. That would have been cool. Labels: Job Hunting, Phishing, Scams
Blog Home
Up to WALDOLand.com
|